Technologies

PHRG The Research Technologies

Technology is the set of techniques, instruments and systems used to discover, describe and explain different phenomena. The pulmonary hypertension research group has developed and optimized several technologies to understand the disease and to discover treatments aimed at improving the quality of life of patients.

We divide these different techniques into two categories: basic research and clinical research.

Inverted microscopy

The laboratory is equipped with a high-performance inverted microscope (Axio Observer, Zeiss) with a module for 3D sectioning and an incubation chamber. It allows the analysis of several types of stains.

Immunofluorescence histology

Histology by colorimetry

ChemiDoc

The ChemiDoc is an imaging system for the detection of chemiluminescence. It is used for the visualization of proteins isolated from biopsies or cells in culture.

qRT-PCR

Real-time PCR is a technique that involves amplifying DNA fragments in order to quantify them. This method, widely used in research, requires DNA from a few cells in culture or from a biopsy and provides important information for the identification of potential therapeutic targets.

Zeiss AxioScan.Z1 slide scanner

The Zeiss AxioScan.Z1 slide scanner enables automated scanning of up to 100 microscope slides (brightfield or fluorescence) into high quality virtual slides.

Cellular culture

The use of human cells isolated from patients with pulmonary hypertension is essential for research. The identification of potential therapeutic targets requires molecular and epigenetic analyzes of these cells.

Seahorse XFe24 technology

This technology allows the measurement of oxygen consumption and extracellular acidification, two important indicators for cellular respiration and glycolysis. Combined, this information tells us about the metabolic functions of cells.

Histology unit

The histology unit is a platform belonging to the pulmonary hypertension research group and available to the entire research center. It includes all the devices necessary for specimen fixation, paraffin embedding and cutting for microscopic analysis. For more information on the histology unit, to know the prices or to make a reservation, contact us at groupe.recherche.htap@criucpq.ulaval.ca

Available devices

  • Excelsior AS
  • PrintMate AS
  • HistoStar AS
  • SlideMate AS
  • Microtome
Tomography

Tomography is an imaging technique using X-rays that allows us to learn a lot about the physiology of the disease.

Cardiac catheterization

Cardiac catheterization is an essential test for the diagnosis of pulmonary hypertension. It consists of inserting a pressure and volume sensor into the pulmonary artery. This procedure is used both clinically by the doctor for the diagnosis of the disease, and in basic research to verify the effectiveness of the treatments under study.

BiStim magnetic stimulator

Magnetic stimulation of the femoral nerve causes an involuntary contraction of the quadriceps. The force of voluntary contraction of the quadriceps is compared to the force of involuntary contraction generated by this device, which is used as a maximum reference measurement. The BiStim is directly connected to an amplifier and an analysis module.

Biodex System 4 pro

This robotic and computerized dynamometer makes it possible to measure muscle strength by applying different types of loads (isometric, isokinetic, isotonic). In research, it is mainly used to assess the strength and endurance of the quadriceps, but its applications are wide (post-injury rehabilitation, identification of the risk of falling, neurorehabilitation, etc.)

Non-ferromagnetic ergocycle

description to come

Ergocycle with electromagnetic brake

Combined with a respiratory analysis module (Vmax 29 spectra), the ergocycle is mainly used in the clinical laboratory to determine cardiopulmonary capacity. However, it can be used for a multitude of exercise protocols such as a constant load endurance test or VO2 Max test.

Portable telemetry system for respiratory physiology assessment

The portable nature of this device makes it possible to measure the gas exchanges of each breath while the subject is moving. It can therefore monitor several physiological parameters (heart rate, VO2, VCO2, minute ventilation, saturation, etc.) continuously during outpatient tests.

Near-infrared spectroscopy (NIRS)

This system measures the variation in muscle and / or cerebral oxygenation and the variation in blood volume. We can also get muscle oxygen saturation data and muscle oxygen consumption.

Non-invasive continuous heart monitoring

Digital arterial pulse plethysmography allows constant measurement of arterial pressure and advanced hemodynamic variables.

Electromyography

Placing the electromyograph electrode on a muscle measures electrical activity there. This makes it possible to determine the muscles recruited, their degree of activation and the order in which they are recruited.

Complete analysis of respiratory functions

The Vmax Encore with plethysmography module allows you to perform tests such as spirometry, diffusion capacity, measurement of lung volumes, lung compliance as well as inspiratory and expiratory pressure. It is also possible to measure total lung capacity by removing nitrogen with the Platinum Body Plethysmograph.

Muscle biopsy

This surgical procedure is performed under local anesthesia by an experienced doctor. A thin incision allows the insertion of a biopsy trocar which collects a muscle sample. This is then analyzed in the fundamental laboratory.

Technologies

PHRG La Recherche Technologies

La technologie est l’ensemble des techniques, des instruments et des systèmes utilisés pour découvrir, décrire et expliquer différents phénomènes. Le groupe de recherche en hypertension pulmonaire a développé et mis au point plusieurs technologies pour comprendre la maladie et découvrir des traitements visant à l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des patients.

Nous divisons ces différentes techniques en deux catégories: la recherche fondamentale et la recherche clinique.

Microscopie inversée

Le laboratoire est muni d’un microscope inversé ultra performant (Axio Observer, Zeiss) avec un module pour le sectionnement 3D et une chambre d’incubation. Il permet l’analyse de plusieurs types de colorations.

Histologie par immunofluorescence

Histologie par colorimétrie

ChemiDoc

Le ChemiDoc est un système d’imagerie pour la détection de chemiluminescence. Il est utilisé pour la visualisation de protéines isolées de biopsies ou de cellules en culture.

qRT-PCR

Le PCR en temps réel est une technique qui consiste à amplifier des fragments d’ADN dans le but de les quantifier. Cette méthode, très utilisée en recherche, nécessite l’ADN de quelques cellules en culture ou provenant d’une biopsie et permet d’obtenir des informations importantes pour l’identification de cibles thérapeutiques potentielles.

Numériseur de lames Zeiss AxioScan.Z1

Le numériseur de lames Zeiss AxioScan.Z1 permet la numérisation automatisée de jusqu’à 100 lames de microscope (fond clair ou fluorescence) en des lames virtuelles de haute qualité.

Culture cellulaire

L’utilisation de cellules humaines isolées de patients atteint d’hypertension pulmonaire est primordiale pour la recherche. L’identification de cibles thérapeutiques potentielles passe par des analyses moléculaires et épigénétiques de ces cellules.

Technologie Seahorse XFe24

Cette technologie permet de mesurer la consommation d’oxygène et l’acidification extracellulaire, deux indicateurs importants pour la respiration cellulaire et la glycolyse. Combinées, ces informations nous renseignent sur les fonctions métaboliques des cellules.

Unité d’histologie

L’unité d’histologie est une plateforme appartenant au groupe de recherche en hypertension pulmonaire et disponible à tout le centre de recherche. Elle comprend tous les appareils nécessaires à la fixation de spécimens, à l’enrobage en paraffine et à la découpe pour l’analyse microscopique. Pour plus d’informations sur l’unité d’histologie, pour connaître les tarifs ou pour faire une réservation, contactez-nous à groupe.recherche.htap@criucpq.ulaval.ca

Appareils disponibles

  • Excelsior AS
  • PrintMate AS
  • HistoStar AS
  • SlideMate AS
  • Microtome
Tomographie

La tomographie est une technique d’imagerie utilisant les rayon X qui nous permet d’en apprendre beaucoup sur la physiologie de la maladie.

Cathétérisme cardiaque

Le cathétérisme cardiaque est un examen essentiel pour le diagnostic de l’hypertension pulmonaire. Il consiste à insérer d’un capteur de pression et de volume dans l’artère pulmonaire. Cette procédure est utilisée autant en clinique par le médecin pour le diagnostic de la maladie, qu’en recherche fondamentale pour vérifier l’efficacité des traitements à l’étude.

Stimulateur magnétique BiStim

La stimulation magnétique du nerf fémoral engendre une contraction involontaire du quadriceps. La force de contraction volontaire du quadriceps est comparée à la force de contraction involontaire générée par cet appareil qui elle, est utilisée comme mesure de référence maximale. Le BiStim est directement relié à un amplificateur et à un module d’analyse.

Biodex System 4 pro

Ce dynamomètre robotisé et informatisé permet de mesurer la force musculaire en appliquant différents types de charges (isométrique, isocinétique, isotonique). En recherche, il est principalement utilisé afin d’évaluer la force et l’endurance du quadriceps, mais ses applications sont vastes (réadaptation post-blessures, identification du risque de chute, neuroréadaptation, etc.)

Ergocycle non-ferromagnétique

description à venir

Ergocycle à frein électromagnétique

Combiné à un module d’analyse respiratoire (Vmax 29 spectra), l’ergocycle est utilisé principalement au laboratoire clinique afin de déterminer la capacité cardiopulmonaire. Or, il peut être utilisé pour une multitude de protocoles d’effort comme pour un test d’endurance à charge constante ou test de VO2 Max.

Système portable télémétrique d’évaluation de la physiologie respiratoire

Le caractère portatif de ce dispositif permet de mesurer les échanges gazeux de chaque respiration alors que le sujet est en déplacement. Il peut donc monitorer plusieurs paramètres physiologiques (fréquence cardiaque, VO2, VCO2, ventilation minute, saturation, etc.) en continu lors de tests ambulatoires.

Near-infrared spectroscopy (NIRS)

Ce système mesure la variation de l’oxygénation musculaire et/ou cérébrale et la variation du volume sanguin. On peut également obtenir des données de saturation musculaire en oxygène et la consommation d’oxygène d’un muscle.

Monitoring cardiaque en continue non-invasif

La pléthysmographie digitale du pouls artériel permet la mesure constante de la pression artérielle et de variables hémodynamiques avancées.

Électromyographie

L’installation de l’électrode de l’électromyographe sur un muscle y mesure l’activité électrique. Ceci permet de déterminer les muscles recrutés, leur degré d’activation et l’ordre dans lequel ils sont recrutés.

Analyse complète des fonctions respiratoires

Le Vmax Encore avec module de pléthysmographie permet de réaliser des examens comme la spirométrie, la capacité de diffusion, la mesure des volumes pulmonaires, la compliance pulmonaire ainsi que la pression inspiratoire et expiratoire. Il est aussi possible de réaliser une mesure de la capacité pulmonaire totale par élimination de l’azote avec le pléthysmographe corporel Platinum.

Biopsie musculaire

Ce procédé chirurgical est réalisé sous anesthésie locale par un médecin expérimenté. Une fine incision permet l’insertion d’un trocart à biopsie qui récupère un échantillon musculaire. Celui-ci est ensuite analysé au laboratoire fondamental.